FTL crashes on startup

Discuss problems related to the game here. If you are having a problem or experiencing a bug PLEASE READ THE "MUST READ" POST.

FTL crashes on startup

by Curare » Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:16 am

Like some other people, FTL is crashing whenever I try to load it up.

Here's the crashlog file I got

1 - 0x758e3219 DebugBreak
2 - 0x669a1770
3 - 0x669f13e9 OpenAdapter10_2DetourIntel
4 - 0x669f1205 OpenAdapter10_2DetourIntel
5 - 0x6cee176d
6 - 0x679a0ba9 DXGID3D10RegisterLayers
7 - 0x6799d0cd CreateDXGIFactory
8 - 0x6799f2f5 DXGID3D10CreateDevice
9 - 0x65746180 D3D10CoreCreateDevice
10 - 0x6dd22bd5 D3D10CreateDeviceAndSwapChain
11 - 0x6b6638c9 apply
12 - 0x6b6613f3 apply
13 - 0x6b661acf apply
14 - 0x68132e8e SDL_RegisterApp
15 - 0x68135b5b SDL_RegisterApp
16 - 0x6812bbb5 SDL_SetVideoMode

My computer is running Windows 7 64 bit, and I have a GeForce 650M running the latest drivers, 310.70.
Curare
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:11 am

Re: FTL crashes on startup

by boa13 » Fri Jan 04, 2013 9:33 am

Do you also have an on-board Intel graphic chip?
Forum janitor — If you spot spam, PM me the URL and/or the username of the spammer.
I have powers, moderator powers. I am not keen on using them, but will do so if needed.
boa13
 
Posts: 829
Joined: Mon Sep 17, 2012 11:42 pm
Location: Nantes, France

Re: FTL crashes on startup

by Curare » Fri Jan 04, 2013 5:10 pm

Yeah, Intel HD 4000. I've tried running it with that too, but with the same result.
Curare
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:11 am

Re: FTL crashes on startup

by UltraMantis » Sat Jan 05, 2013 3:17 am

Well i run the game on an Intel HD4000 and have never had any problems at all. Of course, that could mean nothing on a different PC, but of all the Intel IGPs this one seems least problematic.

You could try switching of V-sync in the Nvidia control panel and see if that makes any difference.
Report spam using the handy Report Button Mod.
UltraMantis
 
Posts: 2141
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:17 pm

Re: FTL crashes on startup

by Matthew » Sun Jan 06, 2013 12:29 am

Hi Curare. Looks like it's dying during the video initialization, but if it's an identical crash log for both the integrated card and the nvidia card then that's strange. Did you check the crash log after both?

Try turning off the Steam in-game community overlay. You can do that by right clicking on FTL in you Steam Library and going to Properties. It's an option in the "General" tab.

There's also a bran new driver available as of today/yesterday that might be worth a shot, but given that you were up to date before it's unlikely: http://www.nvidia.co.uk/object/notebook ... er-uk.html

Sorry about the problem and the delayed response to this thread. Hope we can get you sorted out.
Matthew Davis, FTL Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster going to our GetSatisfaction or emailing directly, contact info here
Matthew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: FTL crashes on startup

by Curare » Sun Jan 06, 2013 10:14 pm

Well, it's a step in the right direction. Now, the game window stays open and the music plays, but all I get is a black screen.
Curare
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:11 am

Re: FTL crashes on startup

by Matthew » Mon Jan 07, 2013 12:31 am

Was it the video drivers that made the change? Or disabling the community? Or something else?

Can you check for output in "stdout.txt" in the installation folder?

And can you add the line "swapTexture=1" (no quotes) to the settings.ini file in your installation folder?

At least it's getting better...
Matthew Davis, FTL Developer - If you're looking for tech support, you'll get help faster going to our GetSatisfaction or emailing directly, contact info here
Matthew
Site Admin
 
Posts: 935
Joined: Thu Apr 19, 2012 9:31 am

Re: FTL crashes on startup

by Curare » Tue Jan 08, 2013 1:36 am

It was updating to 310.90 for the nvidia drivers that made the change.

Here's the stdout...

Initializing Video
Video Initialized
Opengl version = 4.3.0
Starting audio library...
Audio Initialized!
Resource Preload: 5882
Initializing animations...
Animations Initialized!
Loading Ship Blueprints....
Blueprints Loaded!
Initializing Sound Data....
Generating world...
Loading achievements...
Loading score file...
Running Game!

I tried the swaptexture=1 and it didn't seem to change anything.
Curare
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:11 am


Return to Technical Support and Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests