Sector planning

All your guides, strategy discussions, request for help on how to play go here. Please use [SPOILER] if relevant.
pepijndevos

Sector planning

Postby pepijndevos » Fri May 30, 2014 2:06 pm

How do you decide where to go?

Do you just try to maximize friendly sectors?
Are hostile sectors harder or more rewarding?
Do nebula sectors offer an advantage?

In my experience the nebula sectors slow down the rebels, but also seem to contain less ships and stuff.
I'm generally fine without the sight, unless I use hacking or need to deal with fires or boarders on my ship.

I find mantis sectors really annoying because they seem to contain a lot of boarders.
Unless I have a boarding crew myself, or a ship with good blast doors that I can vent to space.

I just read that rock sectors have more missile weapons?
Next to boarders, missiles are what I have most trouble with.

Abandoned sectors creep me out.
I just started playing with advanced content. Maybe it's just me, but I had to run from several Lanius fights, on a run that was otherwise flawless.
shadowcrust

Re: Sector planning

Postby shadowcrust » Fri May 30, 2014 2:27 pm

Nebulae can be rewarding especially if you've got a Long Range Scanner, but they can also give you half a dozen empty beacons in a row.

Green sectors usually get you less fights and more shops, more quests and free stuff, but if you've got a ship in good shape, red sectors give you more scrap through more fights (and a better score). Some green sectors got nebula beacons, so it may roughly balance out.

In my experience, early abandoned sectors provide easy fights, while a sector 7 abandoned sector is tough, as you get lots of Lanius Bombers with Mind Control/Hacking, Cloaking and Teleporter, and many missile launchers.

Running from fights is sometimes a good strategy.
Russian Rockman

Postby Russian Rockman » Fri May 30, 2014 3:37 pm