Upcoming ship mod: tugship

Discuss and distribute tools and methods for modding. Moderator - Grognak
TaxiService

Upcoming ship mod: tugship

Postby TaxiService » Sun Oct 12, 2014 1:59 am

Hello. I'll get straight to the point. I like the graphical aspect of shipmaking, and spend lots of time working on ship hulls, interiors, and whatnot. I am not really good at coming up with stories concerning my designs, though (if it were for me all my ships would be freighters, dammit!), and I'm not good at coming up with interesting strategies for gameplay either. (let alone balance them out, my god)

I am working on yet another ship. Here is its design.

This design is already completely different from what i had in mind when i started working on this ship. And i'm still working on it, as you can tell.

The concept behind this thing, as of now, is that this is a "tugship". A vessel meant to aid larger vessels to dock in spaceports, or something. (kind of like tugboats help huge ships to dock in... normal ports)
You would be able to tell this from the hook and coil i'm gonna draw on the back.

I can take care of the design. I like doing so. I have no problems with that.

What I would really need is some inspiration regarding the actual gameplay for this thing, and this is where you guys come in.

I thought about having the ship start with drone control and hacking. It would come with two 0-energy system-repair drone blueprints. It would allow the player to keep them online all the time, and possibly allowing it to not use the crew to repair system damage... But since it would rely on hacking too, you'd have to be careful with your drone parts.
(I guess that when a repair drone gets destroyed it would be replaced instantly, making you lose a drone part, but they would probably work even if drone control is busted, probably. I didn't check...)